WIP WEDNESDAY – AUGUST 3rd

WIPWEDNESDAY

 

Garter stitch.  Lots and lots and LOTS of garter stitch.  That pretty much sums up what my knitting has been lately.  I started off wanting something simple, and wanting to knit with some of the awesome yarn that I’ve been seeing on Instagram.  I mean … seriously.  There is so much fiber goodness there, I’ll never be sad.

20160715_181926
Droooool!

I’ve been watching updates via Instagram for Hedgehog Fibres, and I finally caved and bought two skeins from The Loopy Ewe.  Wow – these colors!  They are so much fun.  The blue skein in the middle of the photo I had in my stash, and I knew that it would coordinate with the other two.  So, I’m thinking …. shawl.  Yes.  A stripped shawl with lots of color.  Enter the “Drachenfels Shawl”, by Melanie Berg.  Simple stripes, something that I can work on while I’m watching ‘Chopped’ re-runs or snuggling on the couch with Z.

20160729_135720
About 75% Finished

I’m in love with it so far.  But like I said …. LOTS of garter stitch.  So I wanted something else to break it up a bit.  Enter the ‘Hitchhiker’ shawl, by Martina Behm.  I know what you’re thinking. “Amy, that’s garter stitch, too.  Are you crazy?”  Well, don’t answer that.

I wanted to use some handspun that has been living in my knitting basket, and I’ve made a ‘Hitchhiker’ in the past, and really enjoyed it.  I think that this one is going to be gifted, but I’m not quite sure yet.

20160729_135634
Halfway Through

I’m really happy with it so far, and I especially love how the colors are coming out.  I’ve got about twenty-two ‘teeth’ so far, and I hope that I can do at least twenty more.  And, crazy me, I’m already thinking about making a THIRD scarf with this pattern.  I have some fun hand-painted yarn that is dying to get of the stash, and on to the needles.

So, dear readers, what are you working on this week?  Any large projects with deadlines, or just something for fun?

3 thoughts on “WIP WEDNESDAY – AUGUST 3rd

  1. But garter stitch is addictive!!! I always swear off it, then always come back! Hitchhiker is such a fun shawl to knit and the colours are right up my street 🙂

    Like

  2. But garter stitch is addictive!!! I always swear off it, then always come back! Hitchhiker is such a fun shawl to knit and the colours are right up my street:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

